“Nasty” Smoothie



About a year ago, I discovered this recipe for cayenne pepper tea.  I realize that many of you are saying, “Ewww, no!”  The immunity-boosting power of lemon juice is well-documented, but there are numerous health benefits associated with cayenne pepper, as well.  I’m a chilehead, but I realize that many of you might not be, but you can build up to the full teaspoon listed in the recipe from a much milder dose 🙂  After discovering the cayenne tea, I went in search of more herbs, plants, and other compounds with healing properties.  I discovered, among others,  the benefits of organic apple cider vinegar, ginger, garlic, wheat grass, and turmeric.  So, I started making smoothies (probably not the right word!) by adding whatever fresh fruits and vegetables I had in the house.  I enjoy the “smoothies” as natural energy food before a run, or just as breakfast on non-running days.  This particular version contains the following, crushed in the blender:

  • 1tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1tbs organic apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1-inch round bunch of wheat grass
  • the flesh of one pineapple
  • 1cm piece of turmeric root
  • 1cm piece of ginger root

Yield: Two 12oz “Nasty” Smoothies 😀

The answer is “yes”, I do use these foods in my cooking.  I like the convenience of them in a drink is all.  In spite of what you’re thinking, the fruits make it quite sweet.  Don’t believe me?  You’ll just have to try one for yourself!

Leave a Reply

